Tuesday, March 29, 2011

Shaun Tan Wins Astrid Lindgren Award

Sometimes called the "Nobel Prize for Children's Literature," the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award is given annually to a top writer in the field. Previous winners have included Maurice Sendak, Phillip Pullman, and Katherine Paterson. The Committee has announced that Shaun Tan is the 2011 winner of the Award:

It has been an extraordinary year for the Australian writer/illustrator. Just last month, an item appeared on this blog about Tan's having won an Academy Award for his animated short "The Lost Thing."

Tan is perhaps best known for his haunting graphic book "The Arrival," but his "Tales from Outer Suburbia" is equally enchanting. For an overview of Tan and the graphic novel, see Jerry Griswold's essay in Parents' Choice:

No comments:

Post a Comment