Monday, July 9, 2012

New Caldecott/Newbery Award Guide Announced, reprint

Saturday, July 7, 2012

The 2012 edition of the Newbery and Caldecott awards guide

What book was honored with a Newbery Award in 1931? Or awarded the Caldecott Medal in 1957? In 1974? Last year? Updated to include the 2012 award and honor books, "The Newbery and Caldecott Awards: A Guide to the Medal and Honor Books, 2012 Edition" gathers together the books deemed most distinguished in American children's literature and illustration since the inception of the renowned prizes. Librarians and teachers everywhere rely on this guidebook, published by ALA Editions, for quick reference and collection development and also as a resource for curriculum links and readers' advisory. With an easy-to-use streamlined look and format, the 2012 guide features:

A new essay by Deborah Stevenson, director of the Center for Children’s Books at the Graduate School of Library and Information Science at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, on how the awards are consistently a big moment for children's books to be noticed and celebrated outside the library world;

Explanations of criteria used to select the winners;

Updated bibliographic citations and indexes for the award winners

No comments:

Post a Comment